Carmelite Sisters

A Community of ZithaSisters in Africa

The missionary work of the ZithaSisters in Malawi has inspired many young African women to follow the guiding principles of the Sisters and join the Order. The Carmelite Sisters gibt es heute einen eigenen Zweig der ZithaSchwestern.

About us

Alongside their work at St. Gabriel’s Hospital, the ZithaSisters founded an offshoot of their own order, the Carmelite Sisters, officially known as the Sisters of Our Lady of Mount Carmel. The young African sisters live together in five communities in Malawi, continuing the work of the ZithaSisters in their country.

Our work

A separate branch of the ZithaSisters, the Carmelite Sisters want to actively shape the future of Malawi, striving for positive change. Following the example and guiding principles of the ZithaSisters, the Carmelite Sisters are to be found working in healthcare, education, pastoral care and social work. The African sisters run two kindergartens, a health centre, a house of prayer, a visitors’ centre and a holiday home.

Facilities

Communities

Your contact

Help us to help others.

In accordance with its statutes, the Fondation Ste Zithe supports Zitha operations in Luxembourg and Malawi. You can help too.

Carmelite Sisters

Eine Gemeinschaft der ZithaSchwestern in Afrika

Die Missionsarbeit der ZithaSchwestern in Malawi inspirierte viele junge Afrikanerinnen, den Idealen der Schwestern zu folgen und dem Orden beizutreten. Mit den Carmelite Sisters gibt es heute einen eigenen Zweig der ZithaSchwestern.

Über uns

Neben ihrer Arbeit im St. Gabriel’s Hospital gründeten die ZithaSchwestern mit den Carmelite Sisters, offiziell bekannt unter Sisters of Our Lady of Mount Carmel, einen Ableger des eigenen Ordens. Die jungen afrikanischen Schwestern leben in fünf Gemeinschaften in Malawi zusammen und setzen die Arbeit der ZithaSchwestern in ihrem Land fort.

Unsere Aufgaben

Die Carmelite Sisters sind ein eigener Ordenszweig der ZithaSchwestern, der die Zukunft von Malawi aktiv mitgestalten möchte und positive Veränderungen anstrebt. Dem Vorbild und den Idealen der ZithaSchwestern folgend engagieren sich die Carmelite Sisters in den Bereichen Gesundheit, Bildung, Seelsorge und Sozialarbeit. Die afrikanischen Schwestern unterhalten zwei Kindergärten, eine Gesundheitsstation, ein Gebetshaus, ein Besucherhaus und ein Ferienhaus.

Einrichtungen

Gemeinschaften

Ihr Ansprechpartner zur Organisation

Helfen Sie uns, zu helfen.

Die Fondation Ste Zithe fördert gemäß ihrer Satzung Zitha-Werke in Luxemburg und in Malawi. Helfen auch Sie.