About us

Service to people – caring and competence. Shaping the future with Christian values.

Zitha

Zitha is a well-known name in Luxembourg, associated with everything established by the ZithaSisters in the country over their almost 150-year history. A name synonymous with quality, humanity, personalised medical care and an open ear for people’s needs.

Many parts under a single umbrella

Better known as the ZithaSisters, the Congregation looks back on a history of almost 150 years spent helping those in need and offering compassion and humanity. Learn how it all began.
The ZithaSisters founded an African branch of their own congregation, the Carmelite Sisters. Young African sisters can today continue in their own country the work done by the ZithaSisters in and for Luxembourg.
The Fondation Ste Zithe is a foundation established by the ZithaSisters to safeguard the future of Zitha operations. Thanks to the foundation, the work of the ZithaSisters has a sustainable basis upholding their ideals. The Fondation Ste Zithe is active in Luxembourg and in Malawi, one of the poorest countries in Africa, where the ZithaSisters have been working as missionaries since 1959. The Fondation Ste Zithe holds 100% of the shares of ZithaSenior via the Congregation of the Lay Carmelite Sisters.
Zikomo – Aid for Malawi is the latest foundation established by the ZithaSisters. Enshrined in its statutes, its main goals are to reduce poverty and promote health and education. In order to work in a particularly sustainable way, the foundation concentrates its work on the area surrounding St. Gabriel’s Hospital in Namitete, Malawi.
Alongside the Fondation Ste Zithe, the ZithaSisters also founded Eng oppen Hand fir Malawi, an NGO providing sustainable and targeted development aid. Fighting hunger and malnutrition as well as improving living conditions and medical care are laying the foundations for a better future in one of Africa’s poorest countries.

Since 1959 the ZithaSisters have been engaged in building up St. Gabriel’s Hospital in Namitete. Thanks to this commitment, the hospital is now one of the best in Malawi. In line with the Zitha guiding principles, it treats the sick according to medical necessity and not according to their financial means. In part due to the high cost of medicines, St. Gabriel’s Hospital has to rely on donations and grants to serve all its patients.

Quality, compassion, personalised medical care and an open ear for people’s needs – in the tradition of the ZithaGroup. Managed by ZithaSenior, 4 homes for the elderly provide their services in line with the guiding principles of the ZithaSisters. This offering is complemented by a range of other services.

As an innovative provider in the field of home care, ZithaMobil provides individual care based on Christian values, trust and appreciation from its bases in Luxembourg City, Consdorf, Pétange and Contern. Thanks to the work of an interdisciplinary care team, senior citizens and people in need of care are assured a high quality of life in their home environment – despite treatment.

ZithaFoyers supplements the ZithaMobil home care service with a daycare service. The daycare centres bring together the areas of health, psychology and leisure, enabling all senior citizens to mix socially and interact with each other. In addition to basic medical care, the focus is on a range of leisure and cultural activities run by qualified Zitha staff.

Regular fitness training preserves not only physical but also mental performance in old age. Thanks to ZithaAktiv, senior citizens have at their disposal a unique individual counselling and training offering, constantly developed on the basis of the latest scientific findings by a team of doctors, psychologists, researchers as well as occupational therapists and physiotherapists.

Regardless of a patient’s age, physiotherapy can help prevent, alleviate and treat physical ailments. Targeting musculoskeletal and other health problems, ZithaKiné restores body functions through targeted therapy. Conducted in individual sessions, specialised programmes, therapies and physiotherapeutic exercises address patients’ individual problems.

Quality, compassion, personalised medical care together with an open ear for people’s needs – this is also the tradition of the Zitha care homes, part of the ZithaGroup. Managed by ZithaSenior, the care homes form a strong community, offering their services in Luxembourg in line with the guiding principles of the ZithaSisters.

The residential homes run by ZithaRésidences are specially designed for senior citizens who want to live independently in old age, without having to dispense with a high-quality living comfort. Located in Luxembourg City, Pétange and Contern, the residential homes combine autonomous living in luxurious apartments and penthouses with the benefits and services of ZithaSeniorien, allowing residents to react flexibly to the demands of old age.

Founded in 2021 on the basis of an agreement with the Luxembourg Ministry of Health, ZithaUnit is a mobile team of therapists specialised in the long-term care of people with chronic psychiatric illnesses. Its work focuses on supporting dementia patients whose brain damage was caused by alcohol or other addictions.

Help us to help others.

In accordance with its statutes, the Fondation Ste Zithe supports Zitha operations in Luxembourg and Malawi. You can help too.

Qui sommes-nous ?

Servir la personne humaine – aide et compétence. Construire l’avenir avec les valeurs chrétiennes.

Zitha

Zitha représente au Luxembourg un terme courant pour tout ce que les Sœurs de Ste Zithe ont réalisé en près de 150 ans d’existence dans le pays. Ce terme est synonyme de qualité, d’humanité, de soins médicaux prodigués avec cœur et raison ainsi que d’une oreille attentive aux détresses des personnes.

De nombreuses parties, un ensemble

Mieux connues sous le nom des sœurs de Ste Zithe, les sœurs de la congrégation des Sœurs Carmélites Tertiaires sont à ce jour les héritières de près de 150 ans de serviabilité, de compassion et d’humanité. Découvrez comment tout a commencé.
Les Sœurs de Ste Zithe ont fondé à travers les Carmelite Sisters une branche africaine de leur propre congrégation. De jeunes sœurs africaines peuvent à présent poursuivre dans leur pays le travail que les Sœurs de Ste Zithe ont effectué au Luxembourg et pour le Luxembourg.
La Fondation Ste Zithe est une fondation des Sœurs de Ste Zithe, qui assure l’avenir des œuvres de Ste Zithe. Elle permet de poursuivre durablement le travail des Sœurs de Ste Zithe et d’honorer leurs idéaux. La Fondation Ste Zithe s’engage au Luxembourg et au Malawi, l’un des pays les plus pauvres d’Afrique, dans lequel les Sœurs de Ste Zithe œuvrent comme missionnaires depuis 1959. La Fondation Ste Zithe détient via la congrégation des Sœurs Carmélites Tertiaires 100% des participations de ZithaSenior.
Zikomo – Hilfe für Malawi constitue la plus récente fondation des Sœurs de Ste Zithe. Ses objectifs statutaires concernent essentiellement la lutte contre la pauvreté, la promotion de la santé et la formation. Afin d’agir de façon particulièrement durable, la fondation concentre son travail sur la région située autour du St. Gabriel’s Hospital de Namitete, au Malawi.
Outre la Fondation Ste Zithe, les Sœurs de Ste Zithe ont également fondé l’ONG Eng oppen Hand fir Malawi, qui fournit une aide au développement durable par le biais d’un soutien ciblé. La lutte contre la faim et la malnutrition ainsi que l’amélioration des conditions de vie ainsi que des soins médicaux construisent en particulier, dans l’un des pays les plus pauvres d’Afrique, la base d’un avenir meilleur.

Les Sœurs de Ste Zithe développent le St. Gabriel’s Hospital de Namitete depuis 1959. Grâce à cet engagement, l’hôpital fait maintenant partie des meilleurs du Malawi et soigne les malades conformément aux idéaux des Sœurs de Ste Zithe, à savoir selon la nécessité médicale et pas en fonction de leurs possibilités financières. Le St. Gabriel’s Hospital dépend des dons et aides afin de satisfaire l’ensemble des ses patients, notamment en raison du coûteux approvisionnement en médicaments.

Qualité, humanité, soins médicaux prodigués avec cœur et raison ainsi qu’une oreille attentive aux détresses des personnes – le groupe Zitha s’inscrit dans cette tradition. Sous la direction de ZithaSenior, 4 seniories offrent leurs services conformément aux lignes directrices que suivent les Sœurs de Ste Zithe. Une gamme de services supplémentaires complète cette offre.

En sa qualité de prestataire novateur dans le domaine des soins ambulatoires à domicile, ZithaMobil permet, au départ des sites de Luxembourg-ville, Consdorf, Pétange et Contern, une prise en charge individuelle fondée sur les valeurs chrétiennes, la confiance et l’estime. Grâce au travail d’une équipe soignante interdisciplinaire, une qualité de vie élevée est assurée aux seniors et personnes dépendantes, malgré le traitement dans leur environnement domestique.

ZithaFoyers complète le service de soins ambulatoires à domicile ZithaMobil en proposant un accueil de jour. Les centres de jour allient les domaines de la santé, de la psychologie et des loisirs, ce qui permet à chaque senior de s’intégrer socialement au sein du groupe et d’y interagir. Parallèlement aux soins médicaux de base, l’axe essentiel se compose d’une série d’offres de loisirs et culturelles, organisées par des collaborateurs Zitha qualifiés.

Une séance de fitness régulière maintient non seulement les aptitudes physiques mais aussi mentales des personnes âgées. ZithaAktiv propose aux seniors une offre de conseils et d’entraînement personnalisée unique en son genre, qu’une équipe composée de médecins, de psychologues, de chercheurs ainsi que d’ergothérapeutes et de kinésithérapeutes perfectionne sans cesse compte tenu des dernières découvertes scientifiques.

Quel que soit l’âge, la kinésithérapie peut contribuer à prévenir, soulager ou traiter les troubles physiques. ZithaKiné se consacre aux limitations de l’appareil locomoteur sans oublier les autres problèmes de santé et rétablir les fonctions corporelles à travers un traitement ciblé. Lors de séances individuelles, les programmes, traitements et exercices physiothérapeutiques s’orientent selon les problèmes propres aux patients.

Qualité, humanité, médecine pratiquée avec cœur et raison ainsi qu’une oreille attentive aux détresses des personnes – les seniories du groupe Zitha s’inscrivent également dans cette tradition. Sous la direction de ZithaSenior, les seniories composent une communauté forte, qui propose ses services au Luxembourg selon les principes des Sœurs de Ste Zithe.

Les résidences pour seniors de ZithaRésidences s’adressent en particulier aux séniors qui vivent encore de façon autonome et ne souhaitent pas renoncer à un confort très élevé. Les résidences de Luxembourg-ville, Pétange et Contern allient une vie autonome dans de luxueux appartements et penthouses aux avantages et prestations des ZithaSeniorien. Cette approche permet aux résidents de réagir avec flexibilité aux exigences de l’âge.

Fondée en 2021 dans le cadre d’une convention avec le Ministère luxembourgeois de la Santé, ZithaUnit consiste en une équipe thérapeutique mobile spécialisée dans la prise en charge de longue durée de personnes souffrant d’affections psychiatriques chroniques. Le travail de la ZithaUnit se focalise en particulier sur le soutien aux personnes souffrant de démence dont la lésion cérébrale a été causée par l’alcool ou d’autres dépendances.

Aidez-nous à aider.

Conformément à ses statuts, la Fondation Ste Zithe promeut les œuvres de Ste Zithe au Luxembourg et au Malawi. Aidez, vous aussi.