About us

Service to people – caring and competence. Shaping the future with Christian values.

Zitha

Zitha is a well-known name in Luxembourg, associated with everything established by the ZithaSisters in the country over their almost 150-year history. A name synonymous with quality, humanity, personalised medical care and an open ear for people’s needs.

Many parts under a single umbrella

Better known as the ZithaSisters, the Congregation looks back on a history of almost 150 years spent helping those in need and offering compassion and humanity. Learn how it all began.
The ZithaSisters founded an African branch of their own congregation, the Carmelite Sisters. Young African sisters can today continue in their own country the work done by the ZithaSisters in and for Luxembourg.
The Fondation Ste Zithe is a foundation established by the ZithaSisters to safeguard the future of Zitha operations. Thanks to the foundation, the work of the ZithaSisters has a sustainable basis upholding their ideals. The Fondation Ste Zithe is active in Luxembourg and in Malawi, one of the poorest countries in Africa, where the ZithaSisters have been working as missionaries since 1959. The Fondation Ste Zithe holds 100% of the shares of ZithaSenior via the Congregation of the Lay Carmelite Sisters.
Zikomo – Aid for Malawi is the latest foundation established by the ZithaSisters. Enshrined in its statutes, its main goals are to reduce poverty and promote health and education. In order to work in a particularly sustainable way, the foundation concentrates its work on the area surrounding St. Gabriel’s Hospital in Namitete, Malawi.
Alongside the Fondation Ste Zithe, the ZithaSisters also founded Eng oppen Hand fir Malawi, an NGO providing sustainable and targeted development aid. Fighting hunger and malnutrition as well as improving living conditions and medical care are laying the foundations for a better future in one of Africa’s poorest countries.

Since 1959 the ZithaSisters have been engaged in building up St. Gabriel’s Hospital in Namitete. Thanks to this commitment, the hospital is now one of the best in Malawi. In line with the Zitha guiding principles, it treats the sick according to medical necessity and not according to their financial means. In part due to the high cost of medicines, St. Gabriel’s Hospital has to rely on donations and grants to serve all its patients.

Quality, compassion, personalised medical care and an open ear for people’s needs – in the tradition of the ZithaGroup. Managed by ZithaSenior, 4 homes for the elderly provide their services in line with the guiding principles of the ZithaSisters. This offering is complemented by a range of other services.

As an innovative provider in the field of home care, ZithaMobil provides individual care based on Christian values, trust and appreciation from its bases in Luxembourg City, Consdorf, Pétange and Contern. Thanks to the work of an interdisciplinary care team, senior citizens and people in need of care are assured a high quality of life in their home environment – despite treatment.

ZithaFoyers supplements the ZithaMobil home care service with a daycare service. The daycare centres bring together the areas of health, psychology and leisure, enabling all senior citizens to mix socially and interact with each other. In addition to basic medical care, the focus is on a range of leisure and cultural activities run by qualified Zitha staff.

Regular fitness training preserves not only physical but also mental performance in old age. Thanks to ZithaAktiv, senior citizens have at their disposal a unique individual counselling and training offering, constantly developed on the basis of the latest scientific findings by a team of doctors, psychologists, researchers as well as occupational therapists and physiotherapists.

Regardless of a patient’s age, physiotherapy can help prevent, alleviate and treat physical ailments. Targeting musculoskeletal and other health problems, ZithaKiné restores body functions through targeted therapy. Conducted in individual sessions, specialised programmes, therapies and physiotherapeutic exercises address patients’ individual problems.

Quality, compassion, personalised medical care together with an open ear for people’s needs – this is also the tradition of the Zitha care homes, part of the ZithaGroup. Managed by ZithaSenior, the care homes form a strong community, offering their services in Luxembourg in line with the guiding principles of the ZithaSisters.

The residential homes run by ZithaRésidences are specially designed for senior citizens who want to live independently in old age, without having to dispense with a high-quality living comfort. Located in Luxembourg City, Pétange and Contern, the residential homes combine autonomous living in luxurious apartments and penthouses with the benefits and services of ZithaSeniorien, allowing residents to react flexibly to the demands of old age.

Founded in 2021 on the basis of an agreement with the Luxembourg Ministry of Health, ZithaUnit is a mobile team of therapists specialised in the long-term care of people with chronic psychiatric illnesses. Its work focuses on supporting dementia patients whose brain damage was caused by alcohol or other addictions.

Help us to help others.

In accordance with its statutes, the Fondation Ste Zithe supports Zitha operations in Luxembourg and Malawi. You can help too.

Über uns

Dienst am Menschen.
Zuwendung und Kompetenz.
Mit christlichen Werten Zukunft gestalten.

Zitha

Zitha ist in Luxemburg ein geläufiger Begriff für alles, was die ZithaSchwestern in ihrer bald 150-jährigen Geschichte im Land aufgebaut haben. Ein Begriff, der für Qualität, Menschlichkeit, medizinische Versorgung mit Herz und Verstand und ein offenes Ohr für die Nöte der Menschen steht.

Viele Teile, ein Ganzes

Besser bekannt unter dem Namen ZithaSchwestern blicken die Schwestern der Kongregation der Tertiar-Karmelitinnen heute auf eine fast 150-jährige Geschichte aus Hilfsbereitschaft, Mitgefühl und Menschlichkeit zurück. Erfahren Sie, wie alles begann.
Die ZithaSchwestern gründeten mit den Carmelite Sisters einen afrikanischen Zweig der eigenen Kongregation. Junge afrikanische Schwestern können heute in ihrem Land die Arbeit fortsetzen, die die ZithaSchwestern in und für Luxemburg geleistet haben.
Die Fondation Ste Zithe ist eine Stiftung der ZithaSchwestern, die die Zukunft der ZithaWerke sichert. Dank ihr wird die Arbeit der ZithaSchwestern dauerhaft fortgesetzt und ihre Ideale hochgehalten. Die Fondation Ste Zithe engagiert sich in Luxemburg und in Malawi, einem der ärmsten Länder Afrikas, in dem die ZithaSchwestern seit 1959 als Missionarinnen arbeiten. Die Fondation Ste Zithe hält über die Kongregation der Tertiar-Karmelitinnen 100% der Anteile der ZithaSenior.

Zikomo – Hilfe für Malawi ist die jüngste Stiftungsgründung der ZithaSchwestern. Ihre Satzungsziele sind vor allem Armutsbekämpfung, Gesundheitsförderung und Bildung. Um besonders nachhaltig zu arbeiten, konzentriert sich die Stiftung mit ihrer Arbeit auf das Gebiet rund um das St. Gabriel’s Hospital in Namitete, Malawi.

Neben der Fondation Ste Zithe wurde von den ZithaSchwestern auch die ONG Eng oppen Hand fir Malawi gegründet, die mit gezielter Förderung eine nachhaltige Entwicklungshilfe leistet. Insbesondere der Kampf gegen Hunger und Unterernährung sowie die Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen und der medizinischen Versorgung schaffen in einem der ärmsten Länder Afrikas das Fundament für eine bessere Zukunft.

Seit 1959 bauen die ZithaSchwestern das St. Gabriel’s Hospital in Namitete auf. Dank dieses Engagements gehört das Krankenhaus heute zu den besten in Malawi und versorgt Kranke – gemäß der Zitha-Ideale – nach medizinischer Notwendigkeit und nicht nach deren finanziellen Möglichkeiten. Das St. Gabriel’s Hospital ist unter anderem wegen der kostenintensiven Versorgung mit Medikamenten auf Spenden und Förderungen angewiesen, um all seinen Patienten gerecht zu werden.

Qualität, Menschlichkeit, medizinische Versorgung mit Herz und Verstand sowie ein offenes Ohr für die Nöte der Menschen – in dieser Tradition steht die ZithaGruppe. Unter der Leitung der ZithaSenior bieten 4 Seniorien ihre Dienste gemäß des Leitbilds der ZithaSchwestern an. Dieses Angebot wird durch eine Palette weiterer Dienstleitungen ergänzt.

Als innovativer Anbieter im Bereich der ambulanten, häuslichen Pflege ermöglicht ZithaMobil von den Standorten in Luxemburg-Stadt, Consdorf, Pétange und Contern aus eine individuelle Betreuung auf Basis christlicher Werte, Vertrauen und Wertschätzung. Dank der Arbeit eines interdisziplinären Pflegeteams wird Senioren und pflegebedürftigen Menschen trotz der Behandlung im häuslichen Umfeld eine hohe Lebensqualität zugesichert.

ZithaFoyers ergänzt den ambulanten, häuslichen Pflegedienst ZithaMobil um eine Tagesbetreuung. Die Tageszentren verbinden dabei die Gebiete Gesundheit, Psychologie und Freizeit, wodurch allen Senioren die soziale Integration in die Gruppe und die Interaktion untereinander ermöglicht wird. Im Mittelpunkt stehen neben der medizinischen Grundversorgung eine Reihe von Freizeit- und Kulturangeboten, die von qualifizierten Zitha-Mitarbeitern organisiert werden.

Regelmäßiges Fitnesstraining bewahrt nicht nur die körperliche, sondern auch die geistliche Leistungsfähigkeit im Alter. Dank ZithaAktiv steht Senioren ein einzigartiges individuelles Beratungs- und Trainingsangebot zur Verfügung, welches auf Basis neuester wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse von einem Team aus Ärzten, Psychologen, Forschern sowie Ergo- und Kinésitherapeuten ständig weiterentwickelt wird.

Unabhängig vom Alter kann Kinésitherapie zur Vorbeugung, Linderung und Behandlung körperlicher Beschwerden beitragen. ZithaKiné widmet sich Einschränkungen des Bewegungsapparates sowie anderen Gesundheitsproblemen und stellt die Körperfunktionen durch eine zielgerichtete Therapie wieder her. In Einzelsitzungen richten sich Programme, Therapien und physiotherapeutische Übungen an die individuellen Probleme der Patienten.

Qualität, Menschlichkeit, Medizin mit Herz und Verstand sowie ein offenes Ohr für die Nöte der Menschen – in dieser Tradition stehen auch die Seniorien der Zitha, die in der Zitha-Gruppe zusammengefasst sind. Unter der Leitung der ZithaSenior bilden die Seniorien eine starke Gemeinschaft, die in Luxemburg ihre Dienste unter dem Leitbild der ZithaSchwestern anbieten. 

Die Seniorenresidenzen von ZithaRésidences richten sich speziell an Senioren, die auch im Alter eigenverantwortlich leben und nicht auf sehr hohen Wohnkomfort verzichten möchten. In Luxemburg-Stadt, Pétange und Contern vereinen die Residenzen autonomes Wohnen in luxuriösen Apartments und Penthouse-Wohnungen mit den Vorteilen und Dienstleistungen der ZithaSeniorien. Bewohner können dadurch flexibel auf die Anforderungen des Alters reagieren.

2021 nach einer Konvention mit dem luxemburgischen Gesundheitsministerium gegründet, ist ZithaUnit ein mobiles Therapeutenteam, welches sich auf die Langzeitbetreuung von Menschen mit chronischen psychiatrischen Erkrankungen spezialisiert hat. Besonders die Förderung von Demenzkranken, deren Hirnschädigung durch Alkohol oder andere Abhängigkeiten ausgelöst wurde, steht im Fokus der ZithaUnit-Arbeit.

Helfen Sie uns, zu helfen.

Die Fondation Ste Zithe fördert gemäß ihrer Satzung Zitha-Werke in Luxemburg und in Malawi. Helfen auch Sie.